SolarSoftwares
Book a demo

Aurora Solar vs Enact

Aurora Solar starts at $159 per user per month, billed monthly. Enact starts at $279 per month for 2 users. Aurora Solar suits home solar installers and sales teams that design and sell in the same visit. Enact suits home and small business installers wanting proposals, designs and monitoring together.

We do not name a winner. How we compared these

Aurora Solar Solar design software
Best for
Home solar installers, Solar designers and engineers
Starting price
$159 per user per month, billed monthly Partial
Stands out for
Design, shade checks, battery sizing and proposals in one place.
Main consideration
Per-user price adds up fast, and there is no CRM built in.
Enact Solar design and proposal software
Best for
Home solar installers, Solar sales teams
Starting price
$279 per month for 2 users Partial
Stands out for
Low-cost done-for-you proposals and plan sets, on top of a self-serve design tool.
Main consideration
Design, engineering and monitoring are three separate purchases. Monitoring has no public price.

At a glance

Quick facts

Quick facts about Aurora Solar and Enact
FactAurora SolarEnact
Runs as Cloud Verified Cloud and desktop Verified
Free plan No Verified Not found
Free trial Not found Not found
Apps it connects to 10 named 7 named
Verified strengths Solar design, 3D modelling, Shade analysis Verified Proposals, Permits and plan sets, Monitoring Verified

Which should you choose?

Built from the fit ratings in each review. It is not a verdict.

Choose Aurora Solar if

  • Solar designers and engineers
  • Deep 3D, shade and electrical design, plus design rules you can set.
  • Premium adds LIDAR, shade reports and batteries for growing teams.
  • Aurora Solar is cloud software you use in a browser.

Trade-off: Costs add up per user.

Choose Enact if

  • The design plan is $279 a month for 2 users, and you can buy proposals one at a time.
  • Enact is both cloud and desktop software.

Trade-off: Three separate purchases.

Neither fits if you are

  • Solar farm developers
  • Both reviews rate these as a weak fit.

Pricing comparison

Both charge the same way. The prices are in the same currency and charged over the same period, so you can compare them directly.

Pricing facts for Aurora Solar and Enact, as each company shows them
FactAurora SolarEnact
Starting price $159 per user per month, billed monthly Partial $279 per month for 2 users Partial
How it charges Per user per month Per month, by module
Billing Per user per month, billed monthly. Yearly: $135 per user per month, billed yearly ($1,620 a year) Not stated
Users included Basic and Premium each include 1 user and 50 projects a month. You can buy more licenses in the app. Not stated
Free plan No Verified Not found
Free trial Not found Not found
Paid add-ons Nearmap imagery, Expert site models from $9.99 each, Expedited site models in 30 minutes or less Done-for-you proposals: $20 home, $40 to $199 business by size (edits $10 to $80), Permit-ready plan sets: $150 home solar, $200 home solar plus storage, up to $1,150 for business over 1 MW with storage
Official pricing View Aurora Solar pricing (opens in a new tab) View Enact pricing (opens in a new tab)
Last checked 6 October 2026 6 October 2026

Each price is shown as the company writes it, and we never change one currency into another. What you pay also depends on how many users you have, the plan tier, contract length, setup, training and the apps you connect.

Feature-by-feature comparison

All 26 differences, the ones most likely to matter first.

Verified Company claim Not offered Not found Could not read No data yet
What the labels mean
  • Verified means we checked it on the company’s own website. The label links to the page.
  • Company claim means the company says so, but we could not check it.
  • Not offered means the company says it does not do this.
  • Not found means we looked on the company’s website and did not find it. That does not prove it is missing.
  • Could not read means we could not open the company’s page. It says nothing about the product.
  • No data yet means we have not recorded this fact for that product. It says nothing about the product.
  • Basic and Advanced show how deep the company says a feature goes.
Aurora Solar and Enact, feature by feature
Feature Aurora Solar Enact
Export to drawing programs (DXF/DWG files) DXF and DWG are file types that drawing programs open. Not found : source for Export to drawing programs (DXF/DWG files), opens in a new tab Yes Verified : source for Export to drawing programs (DXF/DWG files), opens in a new tab
Likely and worst-case power output (P50/P90) P50 is the output in a typical year. P90 is the output you can count on in a poor year. Not found : source for Likely and worst-case power output (P50/P90), opens in a new tab Advanced Verified : source for Likely and worst-case power output (P50/P90), opens in a new tab
Single-line diagram (the main wiring drawing) Not found : source for Single-line diagram (the main wiring drawing), opens in a new tab Advanced Verified : source for Single-line diagram (the main wiring drawing), opens in a new tab
3D roof and obstruction model Advanced Verified : source for 3D roof and obstruction model, opens in a new tab Basic Company claim : source for 3D roof and obstruction model, opens in a new tab
Automatic panel layout Advanced Verified : source for Automatic panel layout, opens in a new tab Basic Company claim : source for Automatic panel layout, opens in a new tab
Energy report a bank will accept Lenders often ask an independent engineer (IE) to approve the power estimate. Basic Company claim : source for Energy report a bank will accept, opens in a new tab Not found : source for Energy report a bank will accept, opens in a new tab
Battery sizing and modelling Advanced Verified : source for Battery sizing and modelling, opens in a new tab Basic Verified : source for Battery sizing and modelling, opens in a new tab
Ground-mount and sun-tracking layout Not applicable Not its job : source for Ground-mount and sun-tracking layout, opens in a new tab Advanced Verified : source for Ground-mount and sun-tracking layout, opens in a new tab
Inverter sizing Advanced Verified : source for Inverter sizing, opens in a new tab No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product.
On-site capture with a drone or photos No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product. Not found : source for On-site capture with a drone or photos, opens in a new tab
Shading analysis Advanced Verified : source for Shading analysis, opens in a new tab Basic Verified : source for Shading analysis, opens in a new tab
Panel string sizing A string is a row of panels wired together to feed an inverter. No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product. Advanced Verified : source for Panel string sizing, opens in a new tab
Yearly power estimate Basic Verified : source for Yearly power estimate, opens in a new tab Basic Verified : source for Yearly power estimate, opens in a new tab
Named weather and sunlight data source Not found : source for Named weather and sunlight data source, opens in a new tab Not found : source for Named weather and sunlight data source, opens in a new tab
Site view from satellite or aerial images Advanced Verified : source for Site view from satellite or aerial images, opens in a new tab Advanced Verified : source for Site view from satellite or aerial images, opens in a new tab
Production monitoring Not applicable Not its job : source for Production monitoring, opens in a new tab Advanced Verified : source for Production monitoring, opens in a new tab
AI that spots faults No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product. Company claims it Verified : source for AI that spots faults, opens in a new tab
AI design help Company claims it Verified : source for AI design help, opens in a new tab No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product.
Apps it connects to (named) 10 Verified : source for Apps it connects to (named), opens in a new tab 7 Verified : source for Apps it connects to (named), opens in a new tab
What you need first No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product. AutoCAD (PVCAD plug-in plan), or bundled for $66 more per month Verified : source for What you need first, opens in a new tab
Public API (lets other apps connect) Advanced Verified : source for Public API (lets other apps connect), opens in a new tab Basic Company claim : source for Public API (lets other apps connect), opens in a new tab
Starting price $159 per user per month, billed monthly ($135 per user per month if billed yearly) Verified : source for Starting price, opens in a new tab $279 per month for 2 users Verified : source for Starting price, opens in a new tab
Limit on projects 50 Verified : source for Limit on projects, opens in a new tab 10 Verified : source for Limit on projects, opens in a new tab
Limit on users 1 Verified : source for Limit on users, opens in a new tab 2 Verified : source for Limit on users, opens in a new tab
Price currency USD Verified : source for Price currency, opens in a new tab USD Verified : source for Price currency, opens in a new tab
Free plan Demo only, no trial Verified : source for Free plan, opens in a new tab Demo only, no trial Verified : source for Free plan, opens in a new tab
Price shown on its website Partly published Verified : source for Price shown on its website, opens in a new tab Partly published Verified : source for Price shown on its website, opens in a new tab
How it charges Per user Verified : source for How it charges, opens in a new tab Per user Verified : source for How it charges, opens in a new tab
Business and factory work C&I means commercial and industrial buildings. No Verified : source for Business and factory work, opens in a new tab Yes Verified : source for Business and factory work, opens in a new tab
Where it is sold US, Canada, EU Verified : source for Where it is sold, opens in a new tab US, worldwide Verified : source for Where it is sold, opens in a new tab
Local code and rules support US electrical code (NEC) Verified : source for Local code and rules support, opens in a new tab No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product.
Who it is sold to Small installers and sales teams Verified : source for Who it is sold to, opens in a new tab No data yet We have no fact on file for this product yet. That tells you nothing about the product.
Very large solar farms Utility-scale means plants that sell their power to the grid. No Verified : source for Very large solar farms, opens in a new tab Yes Verified : source for Very large solar farms, opens in a new tab
Status Active Verified : source for Status, opens in a new tab Active Verified : source for Status, opens in a new tab
Homes Yes Verified : source for Homes, opens in a new tab Yes Verified : source for Homes, opens in a new tab
Proposal document Advanced Verified : source for Proposal document, opens in a new tab Advanced Verified : source for Proposal document, opens in a new tab
Payback and return calculation Advanced Verified : source for Payback and return calculation, opens in a new tab Advanced Verified : source for Payback and return calculation, opens in a new tab
How you get it Software and services Verified : source for How you get it, opens in a new tab Software and services Verified : source for How you get it, opens in a new tab
Web application Yes Verified : source for Web application, opens in a new tab Yes Verified : source for Web application, opens in a new tab

Scroll the table sideways to see both products. The feature names stay in place.

Where they are the same 13 facts
  • Yearly power estimate
  • Named weather and sunlight data source
  • Site view from satellite or aerial images
  • Proposal document
  • Payback and return calculation
  • How you get it
  • Web application
  • Price currency
  • Free plan
  • Price shown on its website
  • How it charges
  • Status
  • Homes

Pros and cons

Enact

Pros

  • Price is on the website.
  • Cheap done-for-you proposals.

Cons

  • Three separate purchases.
  • Monitoring price is hidden.
Read the Enact review

Alternatives

Instead of Aurora Solar

Instead of Enact

Common questions

What is the main difference between Aurora Solar and Enact?

They differ most on the starting price. In total we found 26 differences and 13 things that are the same.

Which costs more, Aurora Solar or Enact?

Both use the same kind of pricing: per user. Aurora Solar starts at $159 per user per month, billed monthly ($135 per user per month if billed yearly). Enact starts at $279 per month for 2 users. The prices are in the same currency and charged over the same period, so you can compare them directly.

Is Aurora Solar or Enact better?

Aurora Solar starts at $159 per user per month, billed monthly. Enact starts at $279 per month for 2 users. Aurora Solar names 10 apps it connects to. Enact names 7. Main thing to weigh for Aurora Solar: Per-user price adds up fast, and there is no CRM built in. Main thing to weigh for Enact: Design, engineering and monitoring are three separate purchases. Monitoring has no public price. We do not name a winner, because the right one depends on what you need.

Do Aurora Solar and Enact have a free plan or a free trial?

Aurora Solar: free plan: no, free trial: not found. Plans listed: Basic, Premium and Enterprise. Enact: free plan: not found, free trial: not found. Plans listed: Design and proposals, Engineering: PVCAD Plug-In (you have AutoCAD), Engineering: PVCAD + AutoCAD Bundle and Asset Management. Check what a free version leaves out.

Which apps should I check for Aurora Solar and Enact?

Aurora Solar names 10 apps: Google HD, Vexcel, Nearmap (add-on), GoodLeap, Dividend, Mosaic, EnFin, LightReach, Genability (utility rates) and Your CRM, through the API. Enact names 7 apps: AutoCAD (PVCAD plug-in), Palmetto LightReach, Blu Banyan (partnership), Renusol (partnership), Multiple inverter brands (shown as logos), PG&E Share My Data (utility usage) and Google Solar (listed as a data sub-processor). Ask the company about any app not named.

How current is the information on this page?

Prices, plans and apps were read on 6 October 2026. In the table we read 19 facts on 6 October 2026, 11 facts on 28 September 2026 and 40 facts on 25 September 2026, each with its own source. The Aurora Solar review lists 7 sources and the Enact review lists 11. The reviews confirmed 12 of 16 features for Aurora Solar and 13 of 18 for Enact on the companies’ websites.

About this comparison

Last checked

Prices and plans come from each product’s review, checked on this date (the later of the two). Other feature facts in the table were last checked on 28 September 2026.

Companies change prices and features without warning. Check current terms with the company before you decide.

Built from our list of facts, never by hand. We only publish a pair with at least five real differences, and we turned down 61 others.

How we build comparisons

See the software on your shortlist.

Tell the SolarSoftwares team what you want in your solar software.

Your request goes by email to the SolarSoftwares team. A demo time is set only after we reply.